Protestant Legacies in Nordic Law: Uses of the Past in the Construction of the Secularity of Law

  • Slotte Russo, Pamela (Vastuullinen tutkija)
  • Lind, Anna-Sara (CoPI)
  • Christoffersen, Lisbet (CoPI)
  • Rasmussen, Tarald (CoPI)
  • Heinig, Hans Michael (CoPI)
  • Knuutila, Jyrki (CoI)
  • Bastubacka, Johan (CoI)
  • Antonsson, Niklas (CoI)
  • Enkvist, Victoria (CoI)
  • Modéer, Kjell Å. (CoI)
  • Wejryd, Cecilia (CoI)
  • Årsheim, Helge (CoI)
  • Tønnessen, Aud (CoI)
  • Sunde, Jørn Øyrehagen (CoI)
  • Gregersen, Niels Henrik (CoI)
  • Kaufmann, Thomas (CoI)
  • Munsonius, Hendrik (CoI)
  • Kalinna, George (CoI)
  • Bühmann, Henning (CoI)
  • Mejrup, Kristian (CoI)
  • Ytterbøe, Vegard Ree (CoI)
  • Nielsen, Samuel (CoI)

Projektin tiedot


The overarching goal of the project is to provide a nuanced and critical genealogy of the negotiations of law and religion in the Northern parts of Europe from the Reformations and up to the present. The research efforts focus on the particular constellations between law and religion in the West-Nordic realm (Denmark and Norway), the East-Nordic realm (Sweden and Finland), and the German realm, in order to analyze the use of theological norms and standards as a framework for a general understanding of law as secular – not only in early modernity, but also beyond the era of the Enlightenment (in contrast to the French pattern of laïcité). Four overlapping periods are identified: (I) Confessionalization & Institutionalization (ca. 1530s-ca. 1730s) (II) Consolidation & Codification (ca. 1660-ca. 1820) (III) Constitutionalization & Hegemonization (ca. 1800s-1950s) (IV) Re-confessionalization and Internationalization (ca. 1914-today) Importantly, within and across each of these overlapping periods, the project conducts research on minority issues in order to identify tensions as well as also the darker sides of majority cultures on law.
Todellinen alku/loppupvm01/09/1630/11/19


  • Åbo Akademi
  • Council on International Relations in the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Denmark (Projektin osapuoli)
  • The Danish Ministry of Ecclesiastical Affairs (Projektin osapuoli)
  • Evangelical Lutheran Churh of Finland (Projektin osapuoli)
  • Church Research Institute (Projektin osapuoli)
  • National Church Council (Projektin osapuoli)
  • Church of Norway (Projektin osapuoli)
  • National Council (Projektin osapuoli)
  • Royal Norwegian Ministry of Culture Department of Church Affairs (Projektin osapuoli)
  • Church of Sweden Research Unit (Projektin osapuoli)
  • The commission for government support for faith communities (SST) Sweden (Projektin osapuoli)
  • Evangelische Kirche Deutschlands (Projektin osapuoli)
  • Bundesministerium des Innern (Projektin osapuoli)
  • Uppsalan yliopisto (Yhteishakija)
  • Oslon yliopisto (Yhteishakija)
  • Georg-August-Universität Göttingen (Yhteishakija)
  • University of Copenhagen (Yhteishakija) (johto)