The European Welfare States, Social Policy and Social Justice

Guy Bäckman

    Research output: Chapter in Book/Conference proceedingConference contributionProfessional


    The welfare state research nowadays mainly focuses on comparisons among five types of welfare states; the Nordic or social-democratic, Liberal, Continental/corporatist, Mediterranean, and Post-socialist. The European Union (EU) has, through recommendations and treaties, enhanced political, economic and social cooperation among the member states. There are, however, economic and social inequalities among the five types of welfare states, and also between countries within specific types of welfare states. The differences can, to a great extent, be explained by variations in the quality of governments, which in many ways are connected to historical, cultural, political and economic factors.The Nordic countries are a fairly distinct group and differ from most other countries in maintaining small income inequalities and providing universal benefits and services.

    Original languageUndefined/Unknown
    Title of host publicationThe Proceedings of International Symposium Justice and Solidarity : The European Utopia in a Globalising Era, Kuopio 2.-3. September 2014
    EditorsJuhani Laurinkari, Felix Unger
    PublisherEuropean Academy of Sciences & Arts
    Publication statusPublished - 2015
    MoE publication typeD3 Professional conference proceedings


    • Social policy
    • Values
    • Welfare culture

    Cite this