Personal profile

Research interests

Research interests:

  1. Deliberative democracy
  2. Democratic innovations
  3. Experiments in citizen deliberation
  4. Public opinion
  5. Electoral research



  1. Professor of Political Science 
  2. Director of the Social Science Research Institute (Samforsk)
  3. Director of the Center of Excellence in public opinion research titled "The Future of Democracy" (FutuDem). 
  4. Director of the Finnish Research Infrastructure for Public Opinion (FIRIPO)
  5. Founding member of the Standing Group on Democratic Innovations at the European Consortium for Political Research (ECPR)


Expertise related to UN Sustainable Development Goals

In 2015, UN member states agreed to 17 global Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) to end poverty, protect the planet and ensure prosperity for all. This person’s work contributes towards the following SDG(s):

  • SDG 10 - Reduced Inequalities
  • SDG 11 - Sustainable Cities and Communities
  • SDG 13 - Climate Action
  • SDG 16 - Peace, Justice and Strong Institutions


Dive into the research topics where Kimmo Grönlund is active. These topic labels come from the works of this person. Together they form a unique fingerprint.
  • 1 Similar Profiles

Collaborations and top research areas from the last five years

Recent external collaboration on country/territory level. Dive into details by clicking on the dots or
  • CSES Module 5 Full Release

    McAllister, I. (Contributor), Sheppard, J. (Contributor), Müller, W. C. (Contributor), Kritzinger, S. (Contributor), Boomgaarden, H. (Contributor), Hooghe, M. (Contributor), Dassonneville, R. (Contributor), Okolikj, M. (Contributor), Stiers, D. (Contributor), Meneguello, R. (Contributor), Stephenson, L. (Contributor), Harell, A. (Contributor), Rubenson, D. (Contributor), Loewen, P. J. (Contributor), Segovia, C. (Contributor), Gamboa, R. (Contributor), Alfaro-Redondo, R. (Contributor), Alpizar, F. (Contributor), Guzman-Castillo, J. (Contributor), Hansen, K. M. (Contributor), Stubager, R. (Contributor), Grönlund, K. (Contributor), Sauger, N. (Contributor), Valentin, B. (Contributor), Wessels, B. (Contributor), Schoen, H. (Contributor), Rossteutscher, S. (Contributor), Schmitt-Beck, R. (Contributor), Wolf, C. (Contributor), Fieldhouse, E. (Contributor), Green, J. (Contributor), Evans, G. (Contributor), Mellon, J. (Contributor), Prosser, C. (Contributor), Andreadis, I. (Contributor), Chadjipadelis, T. (Contributor), Teperoglou, E. (Contributor), Pang-Kwong, L. (Contributor), Enyedi, Z. (Contributor), Todosijevic, B. (Contributor), Littvay, L. (Contributor), Onnudottir, E. H. (Contributor), Hardarson, O. O. (Contributor), Porisdottir, H. (Contributor), Helgason, A. F. (Contributor), Asgeirsdottir, T. L. (Contributor), Bowler, S. (Contributor), Kristinsson, G. H. (Contributor), Eyborsson, G. P. (Contributor), Indridoason, I. H. (Contributor), Bernburg, J. G. (Contributor), Olafsdottir, S. (Contributor), Marsh, M. (Contributor), Shamir, M. (Contributor), Shomer, Y. (Contributor), Sheffer, L. (Contributor), Yakter, A. (Contributor), Segatti, P. (Contributor), Vegetti, F. (Contributor), Yamada, M. (Contributor), Maeda, Y. (Contributor), Hino, A. (Contributor), Matsubayashi, T. (Contributor), Ramonaite, A. (Contributor), Komar, O. (Contributor), Zivkovic, S. (Contributor), Malesevic, I. (Contributor), Kandic, S. (Contributor), Batricevic, N. (Contributor), Stankov, N. (Contributor), Rekker, R. (Contributor), Van Der Brug, W. (Contributor), Van Der Meer, T. (Contributor), Van Der Kolk, H. (Contributor), Vowles, J. (Contributor), Greaves, L. (Contributor), Bergh, J. (Contributor), Aardal, B. (Contributor), Costa Lobo, M. (Contributor), Magalhaes, P. (Contributor), Gyarfasova, O. (Contributor), Bahna, M. (Contributor), Young Lee, N. (Contributor), Kim, W. (Contributor), Oscarsson, H. (Contributor), Tresch, A. (Contributor), Bernhard, L. (Contributor), Lauener, L. (Contributor), Huang, C. (Contributor), Bureekul, T. (Contributor), Sangmahamad, R. (Contributor), Mehrez, A. (Contributor), Schneider, C. Q. (Contributor), Carkoglu, A. (Contributor), Aytac, S. E. (Contributor), Hutchings, V. (Contributor), Brader, T. (Contributor), DeBell, M. (Contributor), Donakowski, D. (Contributor), Iyengar, S. (Contributor), Howell, D. (Contributor), Hillygus, S. (Contributor), Shaw, D. (Contributor), Valentino, N. (Contributor), Bottinelli, O. A. (Contributor), Bottinelli, E. (Contributor) & Selios, L. (Contributor), GESIS, 25 Jul 2023