Deliberative Mini-Publics: Core Design Features

D4 Published development or research report or study

Internal Authors/Editors

Publication Details

List of Authors: David Farrell, Nicole Curato, John S. Dryzek, Brigitte Geißel, Kimmo Grönlund, Sofie Marien, Simon Niemeyer,
Jean-Benoit Pilet, Alan Renwick, Jonathan Rose, Maija Setälä, Jane Suiter
Publisher: The Centre for Deliberative Democracy & Global Governance, University of Canberra
Place: Canberra
Publication year: 2019
Start page: 1
End page: 12


This working paper identifies core design features of a deliberative mini-public (DMP). It aims to provide clarity on what distinguishes a
DMP from other forms of citizen engagement and participation by characterising its normative foundations and setting out its key features
under a series of discrete headings that can be used as a resource by anyone designing, implementing, or studying DMPs


Deliberative democracy


Last updated on 2020-24-05 at 03:43